# ACP General Assembly

CP 2014

# Agenda (17:45-19:00)

- ACP Distinguished Service Award
- Election Results
- Presentation of CP 2015, CP-AI-OR 2015, CP 2016
- Constraints Journal: New Editor in Chief
- President's report
- Treasurer's report
- Strategic Planning Committee

# ACP Distinguished Service Award

- Awarded to:
  - Barry O'Sullivan, Insight Centre for Data Analytics, University College Cork, Ireland
  - For contributions to the field of constraint programming through sustained service providing multi-faceted and tireless leadership at the national, European and broader international level, and as the longest serving ACP president.
- Nominated by Eugene Freuder
- Selection Committee
  - Jean-Charles Regin (ACP Research Excellence Award, 2013)
  - Yves Deville (CP Conference Co-chair, 2014)
  - Willem-Jan van Hoeve (ACP Secretary)
  - Helmut Simonis (ACP President)

# Barry O'Sullivan



# Executive Committee Elections

#### Current EC Members (with start of term)

- Yves Deville (2011)
- Pierre Flener (2013)
- Willem-Jan van Hoeve (2013)
- Thomas Schiex (2011)
- Helmut Simonis (2011)
- Guido Tack (2013)
- Roland Yap (2011)

#### Candidates for term 2015-2018

- Berthe Choueiry
- Alan Frisch
- Christophe Lecoutre
- Laurent Michel
- Nina Narodytska
- Steve Prestwich

#### Election in August 2014 for 2015-2018 Term

- 261 eligible members of ACP (deadline Aug 1st, 2014)
- Election Committee: Willem-Jan van Hoeve, Guido Tack, Helmut Simonis
- 152 votes cast (2012: 86, 2010: 128, 2008: 182)
- Votes for Candidates
  - Nina Narodytska 86
  - Laurent Michel 83
  - Christophe Lecoutre 77
  - Alan Frisch 69
  - Steve Prestwich 69
  - Berthe Choueiry 61
- Tie broken by coin toss (under supervision of notary public, thanks to Willem)

### Result

- Elected
  - Alan Frisch
  - Christophe Lecoutre
  - Laurent Michel
  - Nina Narodytska
- Thanks to all candidates and voters

# ACP President's Report

Helmut Simonis, CP 2014

#### Executive Committee (until 31st Dec 2014)

- Yves Deville 2011-2014
- Pierre Flener 2013-2016 (Conference Coordinator)
- Willem-Jan van Hoeve 2013-2016 (Secretary)
- Thomas Schiex 2011-2014 (Treasurer)
- Helmut Simonis 2011-2014 (President 2013-2014)
- Guido Tack 2013-2016
- Roland Yap 2011-2014
- Barry O'Sullivan (Past President, non-voting)

#### Executive Committee (from 1st Jan 2015)

- Pierre Flener 2013-2016
- Alan Frisch 2015-2018
- Chrisophe Lecoutre 2015-2018
- Laurent Michel 2015-2018
- Nina Narodytska 2015-2018
- Willem-Jan van Hoeve 2013-2016
- Guido Tack 2013-2016
- Helmut Simonis (Past President, non-voting)

#### **ACP Summer School 2014**

- Bologna, Italy, June 16<sup>th</sup> -20<sup>th</sup>, 2014
- Chairs
  - Alessio Bonfietti
  - Michele Lombardi
  - Piere Schaus
- Topic
  - Practical Constraint Programming

# ACP Summer School 2014 (57 students)



## **ACP Summer School 2015**

- Volunteers welcome!
- We are actively looking for locations

#### **ACP** Website

- <a href="http://www.a4cp.org">http://www.a4cp.org</a>
- Many improvements and extensions during last year
- Credit to Guido Tack for adding new content
- More collaborative content generation model

## CP 2014

- Lyon, September 2013
- Conference Chairs
  - Yves Deville
  - Christine Solnon
- Programme Chair
  - Barry O'Sullivan

# CP 2015, Cork

- Conference Chairs
  - Ken Brown
  - Barry O'Sullivan
- Program Chair
  - Gilles Pesant
- Co-located with ICLP

# CP 2016, Toulouse

- Conference Chair(s)
  - team led by Thomas Schiex
  - joint effort by all institutions doing CP in Toulouse
- Provide more time to find location/organize resources

#### ACP Distinguished Service Award 2014

- Awarded to
  - Barry O'Sullivan
- Proposed by
  - Eugene Freuder
- Selection Committee
  - Jean-Charles Regin (ACP Research Award 2013)
  - Helmut Simonis (ACP President)
  - Willem-Jan van Hoeve (ACP Secretary)
  - Yves Deville (CP 2014 Conference Co-chair)
- Many thanks to all participants (proposals, letters of support, selection)

#### ACP Doctoral Thesis Award 2014

- Awarded to
  - David Bergman, CMU
- Runner-Up
  - Yuri Malitsky, Brown University
- Selection Committee
  - Mark Wallace
  - Roland Yap
  - Guido Tack

# Membership Drive

- Are you an ACP member?
  - Currently 294 registered members
  - Compared to last year's 154 count
- Please register on ACP website (http://www.a4cp.org/)
- No automated registration when attending conference
- Renew membership now for 2015!