Doctoral Research Award

The ACP Doctoral Research Award is awarded every year to a promising young researcher working in the area of constraint programming and who defended their thesis between January and December of the previous two years.

The award, in the form of a certificate, is presented at the CP conference, where the winning researcher will be invited to give a talk about their PhD thesis. The award includes a cash prize of 500 euros, plus free registration for the conference.

The 2024 call closed on 14 June.

Previous recipients of this award are:

Year Recipient Affiliation
2023 Stephan Gocht Lund University
2022 Hélène Verhaeghe UCLouvain, Belgium
2021 Margarita Paz Castro University of Toronto, Canada
2020 Jeremias Berg University of Helsinki, Finland
2019 Edward Lam Monash University, Australia
2018 Ciaran McCreesh University of Glasgow, UK
2017 Clément Carbonnel LAAS-CNRS, France
2016 Andre Augusto Cire Carnegie Mellon University, USA
2015 Jean-Guillaume Fages Ecole des Mines de Nantes, LINA, CNRS, INRIA, France
Anastasia Paparrizou University of Western Macedonia, Greece
2014 David Bergman Carnegie Mellon University, USA
2013 Tias Guns KU Leuven, Belgium
2012 Geoffrey Chu University of Melbourne, Australia
2011 Stanislav Zivny Oxford University, UK
2010 Guido Tack Saarland University, Germany
2009 Christopher Jefferson University of York, UK
2008 Claude-Guy Quimper University of Waterloo, Canada

In some years the Doctoral Research Award Committee recommends that some nominees deserve an honourable mention. We list these as follows:

Year Honorable Mention Affiliation
2023 Gustav Björdal Uppsala University
2022 Dimosthenis Tsouros University of Western Macedonia
2020 Peter Fulla Oxford University, UK
2019 Roberto Castañeda Lozano KTH Royal Institute of Technology, Sweden
2018 Kuldeep Singh Meel Rice University, United States
2014 Yuri Malitsky Brown University, United States
2013 Justin Yip Brown University, United States
2012 Nina Narodytska University of New South Wales, Australia
2011 Michele Lombardi University of Bologna, Italy